A Little Bit Better Now…

I posted my fastest Leawood Loop ride on Monday of this week of 19.55 mph. Not quite as fast as the Discover ride from last Wednesday of 19.74 mph, but still, my fastest time on the Loop. I also rode the Loop on Wednesday and finished with a time of 19.42 mph. I was a little tired and was fighting some aches and pains that morning, but  finished feeling much better than when I started. I’m going to keep this post short, but before finishing up, I wanted to note that my recovery time has been cut in half or maybe more than half ever since drinking Hammer’s Recoverite after my rides. I’ve been feeling great and feel as though I can ride more than I ever have. My speed has definitely picked up, but it’s my endurance that has dramatically increased. Thank God, as it wasn’t that long ago that I struggled finishing the Cider Mill. Speaking of the Cider Mill, I’ve been on several other rides since then that have been longer and more challenging, but finished them feeling stronger and much less fatigued. I make this point because I was probably about three to four weeks away from being fully prepared to tackle the Cider Mill. Looking back, I should have made more time to ride some longer rides. It’s all good though and while many are preparing to ride the MS150 here in KC, I’ve been preparing for the Gran Fondo. I can’t stop thinking about riding in Santa Rosa along the ocean and through the mountains. It should be a great ride; challenging as all get out, but a great ride. I’ve also been thinking about the winter and what I’m going to do to stay in shape…but I’m going to save that for another post.

Route Name: Leawood Loop 

Ride Stats:

Monday 9/13/2010

Google Maps URL: http://j.mp/9Q6uoX

Started: Sep 13, 2010 6:02:46 AM

Ride Time: 1:04:06

Stopped Time: 1:20

Distance: 20.88 miles

Average: 19.55 miles/h

Fastest Speed: 26.74 miles/h

Climb: 200 feet

Calories: 1331

Wednesday 9/15/2010

Google Maps URL: http://j.mp/b8pidW

Started: Sep 15, 2010 5:57:18 AM

Ride Time: 1:04:20

Stopped Time: 0:26

Distance: 20.82 miles

Average: 19.42 miles/h

Fastest Speed: 28.29 miles/h

Climb: 174 feet

Calories: 1177

Weather:

Monday 9/13/2010

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/pastweather/USKS0638?when=-3&locid=USKS0638

Wednesday 9/15/2010

http://www.weather.com/outlook/travel/businesstraveler/pastweather/USKS0638?locid=USKS0638&when=-1

~ by Leo J Esposito on September 16, 2010.

Leave a comment