Tour de Lakes – Lees Summit, MO

I had the opportunity to ride the Tour de Lakes in Lees Summit, MO yesterday and absolutely had a blast. It was hot, it was a workout, my legs are feeling it today, but I’m already planning my next long ride; which will hopefully be next weekend. The Tour de Lakes offered three rides, 10 mi., 32 mi., and 65 mi. You can view the routes on the tour website http://www.tourdelakes.org/. I was originally set on going on the 65 mi. ride, but then started to lean toward the 32 mi. ride, but ultimately rode the 65 mi. ride as I felt I had enough energy to ride the longer ride at about mi. 28. There were definitely parts of the ride that I asked myself, “When is this going to end?” and there was a section that had a run of hills that were just killers, but overall the route was very manageable; hopefully next year it will be a little bit easier…we’ll see. This was my longest ride to date and quite honestly my best ride to date which I fully contribute to my riding routine, what I’ve been eating  and what I’m eating and drinking before, during and after the ride. Today my diet will consist of plenty of ibuprofen; I already took two. Seriously though, what I loved about this ride was the fact that I felt a little movement in the “improvement scale” which is all I’m looking for in every new ride I take.

NB: Although I had my cyclometer running from my iPhone, there were parts of the ride where there was poor GPS reception; it only captured 48 mi. of the ride. My ride data below is from one of the guys that Sam knows that we had the opportunity to ride with named John Capuchino. He has the Garmin Edge 500 which is the computer I’m pretty sure I’m going to get.

Route Name: Tour de Lakes

Ride Stats: Click on this link to see the data the Garmin Edge 500 posts – http://connect.garmin.com/activity/38274221

Overall   

Time: 03:30:37
Distance: 62.53 mi
Elevation Gain: 2,927 ft
Calories: 2,089 C
Avg Temperature: 87.1 °F

  Timing  

Time: 03:30:37
Moving Time: 03:29:35
Elapsed Time: 04:40:05
Avg Speed: 17.8 mph
Avg Moving Speed: 17.9 mph
Max Speed: 42.9 mph
Avg Pace: 03:22 min/mi
Avg Moving Pace: 03:21 min/mi
Best Pace: 01:24 min/mi

  Elevation  

Elevation Gain: 2,927 ft
Elevation Loss: 2,917 ft
Min Elevation: 821 ft
Max Elevation: 1,044 ft

Weather: High 92 Low 75

~ by Leo J Esposito on June 27, 2010.

4 Responses to “Tour de Lakes – Lees Summit, MO”

  1. Congratulations on our longest ride!! That is awesome!

  2. How about your not out longest ride!!! My longest ride this summer is no where close to 65 miles!! Keep up the great work!!

    • Thanks! It was definitley the longest ride I’ve been on, but interstingly enough, I would love to keep it around 65 instead of jumping to 75 or 100.

  3. Congrats, Leo. Your best ride came in Missouri. Coincidence, I think not. Sixty-five miles is impressive. Good job.

Leave a comment